Skip navigation

The relevance of topic and voice

As you may have learned from prior posts, “topic” or “obsession” as it’s referred to in the Gruber-Mann theorem is an important element of life for me. It answers the question: “What are you involved in?” and whether or not that matters (enough) for myself.

So, what’s my topic? What do I think about when I go to sleep and am thinking about my “job”? What is it that truly involves me? Where do I believe I can make a difference?

My topic

First, let’s talk about my topic or my obsession. I try to understand how people do what they do. I’m interested in this at all levels. I’ve looked at the translation of strategic intent to operational processes, I’ve assisted people in establishing an improved level of personal efficiency … my topic is the optimization of all aspects of processes, be it the effect on users (burden reduction and better regulation), the 3 E’s of the processes (efficiency, effectiveness, economy) or the governance and the related risk management and internal controls. No matter how diverse my past experiences may seem if you look at my CV, which lists business process reengineering, strategic consulting, build of internal audit departments, development of a risk management methodology and significant work in burden measurement, burden reduction and better regulation, it always comes down to opening up the item, looking at the insides, tinkering with it and trying to put it back together again, ideally functioning better than before.

My voice

I really love to write. Especially in English, which is not my native tongue, although I am a fluent speaker and use the language on an almost daily basis. Hence the blog(s). Blogging is a great way to use language to talk about my topic. I also love to present. This used to be very different. I used to be very nervous when talking to more than 2 people at a time. Forcing myself to do it more and more has resulted in an enjoyment when standing in front of an audience, no matter what the size. Given I’ve been active in a business development role in the past, I know how to talk as well.

Intermission

Okay, checking the Gruber-Mann theorem. I have a topic, which I really care about. Okay, I’m obsessed about it, otherwise I wouldn’t have been writing about this of and on on different blogs since 2007. I have a voice, through blogging and through presentations. I should have a basis producing quality material … and still I miss something …

Purpose

One of the most difficult and yet most rewarding decisions I’ve taken in the past months was a professional one. I’ve decided to leave the trodden path in a Big 4 advisory company and start working for an organization which I believe truly matters to people. As of November 14th, I will assume the role of Chief Audit Executive of BTC/CTB, the Belgian Development Agency.

Is there purpose? I believe I can assist the organization in both further building the internal audit department, in starting up an integrated risk management approach in line with ISO 31000 and help them in building out a good anti-corruption help desk.

By doing this, I hope I can contribute to increasing different aspects of the development aid Belgium is putting in the world. For me, it’s one way a step in the dark. But on the other hand, I’ve already met some of the collaborators … and it will be an honor and a pleasure to be able to work with all of them.

Contribution

Is this contribution? I hope so, otherwise I wouldn’t be taking this step. It’s very much about belief in doing something good. In going somewhere that matters. Keep visiting the blog and you’ll be among the first to know whether the contribution is all I hoped for.